Tuesday, March 21, 2006

What Is Your Love Language?

I enjoyed reading Dr Gary Chapman's book "5 Love Languages". He said that to truly connect with a loved one there is one simple fact: you need to know and speak his or her love language. A love language is the way we express our commitment, and it can be learned or changed to touch the hearts of those we love. Whether you’re a child, a spouse, a parent, or a single, the five love languages are the same:

  1. Love Language #1: Words of Affirmation
    Verbal compliments, words of appreciation, and encouragement
  2. Love Language #2:Quality Time
    A central aspect of quality time is togetherness, which has to do with giving our full attention to the other person.
  3. Love Language #3:Receiving Gifts
    Gifts are visual symbols of love, which have great emotional values.
  4. Love Language #4:Acts of Service
    Acts of service are things that you do for your loved one. Such actions as cooking a meal, washing dishes, cleaning the house, mowing the grass etc.
  5. Love Language #5:Physical Touch
    Holding hands, kissing and hugging are all ways of communicating emotional love.

So what is your love language?


Kc said...

#6. Sacrifice. ;-)

Kitty Cheng said...

yes kc, sacrifice is certainly an extremely important love language that many of us overlook. Thanks for the reminder!

Corry said...

All of them, although I fall short on #1. I need to improve that:-)

Very good point, Kc!!:-)

God's Grace.

Kitty Cheng said...

Hey Corry, I don't think you fall short on #1 at all.

Patti said...

With my husband, it's all 5 of them. With other people it varies. It depends on what I perceive they can handle. It may be gifts or words of encouragement. Acts of service too. Quality time is so hard-with friends I try but not as much. It can also change with the person. With a co-worker, it began with gifts, but now is more acts of service and words of affirmation. She wasn't able to handle me helping her or encouraging her at first. So I think I try to fit the person.

Kitty Cheng said...

Yes Patti, I think quite a lot of people want the combination of all 5 of them too.

audrey` said...

Combination of all 5 of them plus sacrifice :)

Thanks for the book summary, Kitty.
I don't need to read it now =P

Kitty Cheng said...

Hehe Audrey, it's still good to read it, as there are a lot of great gems in the book =P